Writing Excuses

Happy Craft Wednesday!

Like all (future) Craft Wednesdays I’ll be posting about things that I’ve found that have helped me write better. Today, I encourage you to check out Writing Excuses a 15 minute podcast by 4 wonderful writers releasing a new episode each week.

Fifteen minutes long, because you’re in a hurry, and we’re not that smart

My husband recommended it to me when I started revising my NaNoWriMo 2012 novel. At the time I was more oblivious about writing as a profession, and these 4 professional writers started giving me the language to describe my writing. Through their banter about work and process, I felt that they’ve made writing more accessible. It made it less scary and more possible. This exposure made it a little bit like I could start coming out to myself as a writer. I feel more comfortable talking about plot and pacing. I feel camraderie (in a distant and respectful way) for these people who’ve been published and continue to publish works.

I recommend checking it out, it’s only 15 minutes and is practical and entertaining and who knows, you may get a good writing prompt or reading suggestion out of it.

Leave a Reply

