BookTubery | Wordcraft

I think the first thing that cemented into my mind that I could be a writer was my slog through NaNoWriMo 2012. Sure I’d written stories before that, but it was this exercise of writing everyday that made me realize that writing was something I could do. It wasn’t easy though. I had to make it part of my routine. I kind of had to come out as a writer and tell my friends that I couldn’t beat them at board games that day because I hadn’t hit my word count. Being productive in spite of distractions was one of the big hurdles. Not giving up despite being desperately tired and frustrated at times was hard, but there was hope on the way!

While I was struggling with my word count and giving my teeth a healthy amber sheen from caffeinated beverages, BookTuber Katytastic was hitting 1667 and motivating WriMoers with daily vlogs. In keeping with this week’s theme of being lazy, missing deadlines, and using TV as a source of inspiration, todays recommendation for all y’all readers and writers, is to subscribe to Katytastic’s channel. Especially if you like book recommendations and light sass.

The thing I like about the BookTubers, is that like WriMoers, they’ve built a community. They support each other, make suggestions a about resources and are pretty entertaining most of the time. Just don’t fall down the rabbit hole of watching too many vlogs, they’ll rot your brain and eat up your writing time…

Not familiar with BookTube? Check out this excellent overview from Book Riot with suggestions on who else you might want to check out. If you are familiar, who are you watching (and who should I be watching)?

Leave a Reply

