Sweet Rejection

The first thing you have to learn when you go into the arts is to learn to cope with rejection. If you can’t, you’re dead.

~Warren Adler

Last week I got my first rejection letter! Surprisingly, I wasn’t really all that upset. Instead of getting supremely bummed out, I took it as an opportunity to test both my novel and my mettle. Sure I would’ve liked to get to at least gotten a request for more pages, but he didn’t send me a form rejection so I’m pretty stoked on that. Instead he offered some tips for my future efforts.

My favourite reaction to this news came from the accountant at my work who was tearing up a little because of how happy she was for me. Hopefully the next time my writing moves someone to tears, it’s because they actually read it, but for now I’ll take it.

Leave a Reply

