NaNoWriMOMG

It’s like the weather knew I needed a break from all the happy, sunny sunshine and decided to ring in November with a more Vancouver rainstorm. I, personally, love the rain. It always puts me in the mood to sit at home with a cup of tea. I mean, usually I’ll be sitting at home with a  cup of tea anyway but now I don’t feel any shame for it.

The other thing that happened over the weekend was that I started NaNoWriMo! I know what you’re thinking, “great intermittently blogging one, shouldn’t you be budgeting your time and saving every word for your 50k?”

To you I say, “Never use that tone with me… and of course I should be focussing on my writing goal.”

Unfortunately I also need to sit and let my characters breathe. Since I am pantsing this year, many of the situations and plots are only have formed at this point. Not like a baby, but like a jagged stone. I need to let the tumble around in my brain-space to smooth out the rough parts until it’s polished.

In the meantime, I’m also kind of pantsing a genre I have little experience in writing. While it was my intent to write the sequel to The Many Worlds of Charlie Ocean which I outlined at a bar during the Surrey International Writers Conference, I decided to shelf that for the time being. I wanted to challenge myself with something new. That’s not to say writing any novel isn’t challenging, but I’m also cognizant that NaNoWriMo may not be the best approach for writing a story that I want to get right.

So, NaNoers, I leave you with some advice for the month:

Write like a crazy son-of-a-bitch

~Me

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

